By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Lady Redskins, RHMS wrestlers continue to roll
bryan county redskins 1

The No. 9 ranked Bryan County High School girls basketball team improved to 6-0 overall and 2-0 in Region 2-AA with a 64-13 win over Metter on Tuesday.

Junior Olonna Rawls, who recently scored her 1,000th point, led the way with 29 points.

Bryan County coach Mario Mincey said senior Shelby Gunn hit key 3-pointers in the first quarter to spark the offense.

Juniors Alation Eason and Kelsey Leggett combined for 21 points and also played well defensively.

“We have a lot of players contributing right now and that’s a good thing,” Mincey said. “It’s a long season, so we must continue to play at a high level.’ The school will honor Rawls at halftime of the boys’ game Friday against visiting Toombs County.

RHMS wrestling

On Monday Dec. 3, the Richmond Hill Middle School wrestling team faced Effingham County.

Richmond Hill has a great 8th grade group of returners and they are supported by a host of young talent. according to coach Patrick Welch.

He said the team is fortunate to have a strong youth program lead by Tom Furman and Tony Dragon that allows them to reload each year.

The Wildcats have 50 wrestlers on the team this year and depth throughout the lineup, which could make them a dangerous team in dual meets. The Wildcats wrestled well and were able to secure 12 victories out of 17 weight classes, eight wins coming by way of pin.

Effingham County Middle School put up a fight but fell to the Wildcats 68-21.

The Wildcats outworked the competition with critical victories coming from Lillie Brown, Mason Wilcox, Delvon Powell, and Liam Irvin.

The Wildcats improve to 4-0 for the season and 2-0 in the region. The Wildcats will travel to Ebenezer Middle School next Monday.

Redskin honors

Bryan County High School senior Terron Dixon, who played running back and defensive back, was named first team All-Region 2-AA. Zach Lanier, Will Kroymann and DaNia Brewer were named honorable mention.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters