By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Infinger explains district changes
Carter Infinger
Carter Infinger is the current chairman of the Bryan County Commission.

Carter Infinger, Chairman, Bryan County Commission

It’s official. The new Bryan County commission districts have been approved by the state legislature and signed into law by Governor Kemp. For the office of the Chairman, that doesn’t change much because I’m elected to serve countywide, but a change in district lines means that you could have a different commissioner representing you. But why the change? After a U.S. Census is completed, districts for most elected seats change based on population. This includes U.S. and State Representatives, District Commissioners and Council for Counties, Cities, and Schools.

The goal is to see that each district has an equal number of people represented by each official.

In order to do this fairly and without politics, Bryan County hired law firm Taylor English Duma to redraw the lines based on the 2020 Census figures. This is the same law firm that the state used to redraw congressional maps. Counties with little growth barely change district boundaries, but because Bryan County is the fastest growing county in Georgia, district borders needed updating to include just under 9,000 people, in order for each Bryan County citizen to have equal representation on the board of commissioners. Districts 1 and 2 on the North side, as well as Districts 4 and 5 on the South side, have changed significantly, but changes to all districts were needed to make them equal in population.

The addresses of sitting elected officials were mapped, so that a district didn’t find itself without any representation once adopted. An elected official must live within the lines of the district they represent.

We saw a recent example of this principle in action when former commissioner Brad Brookshire stepped down from the board of commissioners after moving out of District 4 and was replaced by Andrew Johnson who currently lives in the district.

Finally, whole precinct lines were followed except in areas that required a split. In those cases, the split was made along a clearly identifiable road or boundary. This may change who directly represents you on boards and counsels, but also may change where you vote. For example, if you live South of GA-204 in Black Creek and formerly voted in the Black Creek Administration building, you are now a part of District 1 and will now vote elsewhere. Keep an eye out for notifications that you polling place may have changed before the May 24, 2022, general primary.

I’m elected to represent the entire county along with the Sheriff, Clerk of Superior Court, Judges, Tax Commissioner, Solicitor, and Coroner, so the district lines don’t impact who we represent. I thank you for allowing me to continue to serve as your Bryan County Chairman.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters