By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Ziegler wins Pembroke mayoral race
Tiffany Zeigler and family
Tiffany Ziegler and family. Photo by Jason Hurt Photography.

Tiffany Ziegler, the current Pembroke Mayor Pro-Tem, defeated Sharroll Fanslau in a landslide victory (381 votes to 107) on election night to become Pembroke’s newest mayor following the retirement of Judy Cook.

Ziegler, a Pembroke native, has served on its city council for 16 years, and has worked as both its Downtown Development Authority Chair and Housing Chair.

Her campaign largely centered on promising to maintain Pembroke’s small-town charm and character while embracing the inevitable growth that will come with big projects like the Hyundai Metaplant on neighboring Highway 280 in Black Creek.

On Ziegler’s official campaign Facebook page, she said: “I would like to give God the ultimate glory for seeing me through this election process. I also want to express my heartfelt appreciation to the citizens of Pembroke for placing their trust in me and granting me the opportunity to serve as their Mayor.

I am absolutely committed to fulfilling this responsibility with utmost dedication.

As Mayor, my foremost objective is to foster the growth of Pembroke in a positive direction while preserving our cherished small town heritage.

I will tirelessly work towards creating an environment that nurtures our community’s values, encourages progress, and ensures that our city continues to flourish.

Together, we will shape a future where Pembroke thrives, all while honoring and preserving the unique aspects that make our town so special.”

Ziegler currently works as chief operating officer at Owens Supply Company, her family’s long-standing lumber business. Her grandfather, the late Harry Owens, founded Owens Supply Company and also served as the mayor of Pembroke from 1971 to 1977. Her grandmother Elvie Owens was also the city’s first female councilmember.

Council At-Large Incumbent councilman and former Public Works director Ernest Hamilton defeated challenger Jerry Gallishaw, Sr. 310 votes to 181 votes.

Council District 1

Incumbent councilman Johnnie Miller, who has served on the council since 1992, ran unopposed and got 78 votes.

Council District 2

Sharon D. Lewis, who previously ran for mayor in 2019, defeated  Karen Lynn 64 votes to 53 votes.

Council District 3

Incumbent councilwoman Diane Moore, serving since 2009, ran unopposed and got 107 votes.

Council District 4

Former Bryan County commissioner Ed Bacon defeated challenger C. Edward Winter, 118 votes to 44 votes, for the seat vacated by Zeigler.

RICHMOND HILL Council Post 3 Former councilman Van Hunter, who served from 2002 to 2006 and from 2010 to 2014, beat challenger Chris Raiford, 451 votes to 438 votes.

Council Post 4

Incumbent Steve Scholar beat challenger Rafael Redondo, 626 votes to 262 votes.

SPLOST vote (county)

Bryan County residents voted 1,752 (72.36%) to 669 (27.63%) to renew a one-cent Special Local Option Sales Tax (SPLOST) Because of the county question on the ballot, Richmond Hill voters had to go to their county polling place to cast their votes.

Voting tallies were complied by editor Andrea Gutierrez with the help of city clerks Arlene Hobbs (Pembroke) and Dawnne Greene (Richmond Hill).

Sign up for our E-Newsletters