By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Qualifying update: Four Democrats qualify to run for school board seats
Election generic

Four Democrats have qualified to run for the four open seats on the Bryan County Board of Education up for election in November.

Teresa Timmons is running for chairman; Melissa Alewine is running for District 1; Walteria Maine is running for District 4 and Patricia Hewitt qualified to run for the District 5 seat, according to Bryan County Elections Supervisor Cindy Reynolds.

The four candidates will face the winners of the Republican primary, which will be held in May.

On the Republican side, incumbent Chairman Amy Murphy, as well as incumbents Pam Gunter in District 1, Marianne Smith in District 4 and District 5’s David Schwartz have all qualified to run again.

Republican challengers include Scott Novinksi, who is seeking the chairmanship; Shawn Page is running in District 1; Rebecca Ricker in District 4 and Toriano Gilbert and Lisa Fernandez in District 5.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters