By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Governor: Mandatory evacuation east of I-95
Placeholder Image

Acting on a recommendation from the state's Emergency Operations Command in anticipation of Hurricane Matthew, Gov. Nathan Deal today issued a mandatory evacuation east of Interstate 95 for six coastal counties. The voluntary evacuation request, issued yesterday, remains in effect for residents west of I-95 in those counties.

The six coastal counties include: Bryan, Chatham, Liberty, McIntosh, Glynn and Camden.

“The National Hurricane Center predicts Hurricane Matthew will intensify as it moves from the Bahamas up the Florida Coast,” said Deal. “As a result, I am now ordering a mandatory evacuation for areas east of Interstate-95. I also encourage the voluntary evacuation of residents in low-lying, coastal areas west of I-95. Shelters are opening now in these areas. To assist Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency Director Jim Butterworth in coordinating and implementing traffic flow preparations, I’ve activated 45 members of the Georgia National Guard. They will assist state and local public safety and transportation officials. I urge Georgians in the affected areas to remain calm, be prepared and make informed, responsible decisions as we continue to monitor Hurricane Matthew’s path.”

To locate a facility, call your local authorities, download the Ready Georgia app or visit GEMHSA’s website. A map of shelters is also available on the American Red Cross website. An evacuation map and a shelter map are attached.

Deal will hold a news conference at 2 p.m. today to provide weather and preparedness updates. Watch live here.

For Hurricane Matthew updates or more information on preparedness efforts, contact Catherine Howden at GEMHSA or visit

Shelter Map 2
Georgia Mandatory Evacuations map
Sign up for our E-Newsletters