By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Primary election May 24; early voting starts Monday

Bryan County voters will decide six local races in this year’s primary election, with all partisan races consisting of only Republican candidates.

Early voting begins Monday and runs through May 20. Voters may cast ballots between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays either at the County Administrative Building, 66 Capt. Matthew Freeman Drive in Richmond Hill, or in the Commissioners Meeting Room at the Bryan County Courthouse, 151 College St. in Pembroke. Voting may also be done from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, May 14, at either location.

Bryan County Election Supervisor Cindy Reynolds said there are 17,866 “active” registered voters. She said she expects a relatively high turnout because of the races involved. Slightly more than 7,000 people voted in the March 1 presidential primary, with 5,672 ballots cast in the Republican primary and 1,412 on the Democratic side.

The Bryan County News will profile each race according to the following schedule:

*denotes incumbent

Commissioners Chairman – May 5

Carter Infinger and Tim Gaylor

Probate Judge – May 5

Billy D. Reynolds Sr. and Jennifer M. Cox

Sheriff – May 12

Cleveland “Cleve” White and Clyde R. Smith*

Solicitor General – May 12

Andrew S. Johnson, Chester J. “Chet” Gregg and Don Montgomery

BOE Vice Chair – May 19

Audrey Singleton, Drew R. Humphreys and Karen Krupp

BOE District 2 – May 19

Dennis C. Seger* and Pauline Phifer

Other incumbents running unopposed are:

• Becky Crowe, clerk of Superior Court
• Bill Cox, coroner
• Carroll Ann Coleman, tax commissioner

Two county commissioners, Noah Covington III of District 1 and Steve Myers of District 3, are also unopposed for re-election. Current Solicitor General Ray Smith is running unopposed for State Court judge.

For the Board of Education vice chair seat and solicitor general, if no candidate receives 50 percent plus one vote, the top two finishers will appear on a runoff ballot July 26.

At the state level, Rep. Jan Tankersley, R-Brooklet, is being challenged in House District 160 by Democrat James “Major” Woodall of Statesboro. Tankersley and Woodall will appear unopposed on their respective party ballots in the primary and will face each other in the November general election. The rest of the Bryan County delegation — Rep. Ron Stephens, R-Savannah, Rep. Jesse Petrea, R-Savannah, and Sen. Ben Watson, R-Savannah — are running unopposed.

At the federal level, incumbent U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., has drawn two Republican challengers, Derrick Grayson of Redan and Mary Kay Bacallao of Fayetteville, as well as four Democrats, Jim Barksdale of Atlanta, Cheryl Copeland of Hiram, John F. Coyne III of Alpharetta and James Knox of Evans.

U.S. Rep. Buddy Carter, R-Ga., is unopposed.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters