By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Students earn academic honors, degrees
academic honors

RHHS grad receives $3,000 scholarship

Avery Waters, who recently graduated from Richmond Hill High School, has received a $3,000 Crawford Johnson III and Walker Johnson Jones college scholarship.

The scholarships go to eligible children and grandchildren of the employees of Coca-Cola Bottling Co. UNITED Inc. who are pursuing undergraduate degrees at recognized educational institutions. Savannah Coca-Cola is a Division of Coca-Cola Bottling Co. UNITED.

Valdosta scholarship

Megan Lacy of Richmond Hill has earned a Georgia Power Foundation and Retention Fund Scholarship at Valdosta State University for 2017-18.

Lacy is one of 279 currently enrolled, incoming first-year or transfer students selected to receive a scholarship through VSU Foundation.

GSU lists

Georgia Southern University named more than 1,350 students to the spring 2017 semester President’s List, including these from Bryan County:

Black Creek: Christopher Carswell.

Ellabell: Robert Boyette, Sasha Diederich, William Kendrick, Tyler Poythress, Taylor Roop and Narayan Saviskas.

Pembroke: Courtney Cook, Christian Gibbs, Joyce Mitchem, Jessica Newton, James Rowe, Lindsay Smith, Jacob Stansell and Starsha White.

Richmond Hill: Matthew Demond, Haley Dittmer, Brian Eichhorn, Erin Fortenberryl, Brandy Franklin, Darrell Fullmer, Hunter Hadley, Claire Halliburton, Madison Hayes, Emily Hollowell, Stephanie Miller, Robert Perani, Teresa Pham, Shirley Senefeld, Lauren Simerly, Sarah Strazza, Dylan Vauiso and Sidney Whitted.

To be eligible for the President’s List, a student must have at least a 4.0 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester.

The school also recently named the spring semester Dean’s List, which included:

Ellabell: Samantha Boyd, Meagan Brown, Melissa Campbell, Kaylin Gapac, Karen Guthrie, Elizabeth Hawkins, Jennifer Lindsey, Mary Neubauer, Ashley Shiver and Tam Vo.

Nevils: Noah Johns.

Pembroke: Brandon Burch, Dakota Burnsed, Alyssa Gholston, Cynthia Jones, Dylan McCoy, Sarah Merritt, Deadra Miles, Greg Shuman and Paige Peterson.

Richmond Hill: Connor Beeson, Rachel Bickes, Madison Bocook, Katie Braid, Eric Brown, Ashley Callahan, Glenn Carlson, Tiffany Dobbins, Jared Durrance, Abby Eichhorn, Jessica Elkins, Kalan Eppley, Kindra Heldreth, James Jankowski, Brooke Jenkins, Arion Keller, Matthew Korzik, Paul Lascuna, Alexandrea Levines, Moses Malloy, Lindsey Mapes, Alysia McMahon, Erin Milligan, Savana Oetjen, Brandon Philbeck, Derek Shuman, Logan Strickland, Emily Sullivan, Andre Walker, Jordan Walker, Jacob Williams and Diana Wilson.

To be eligible for the this list, a student must have at least a 3.5 grade point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester.

Troy graduate

Taleen Bryan of Richmond Hill graduated from Troy University during summer semester/term 5 of the 2016-17 academic year.

Bryan attended Troy Online and graduated with the bachelor’s of science degree.

Honors at VSU

The College of Arts and Sciences at Valdosta State University recently recognized 67 pure and applied sciences, humanities, social sciences and interdisciplinary program students for achievement during the 2016-17 academic year.

They included two from Richmond Hill:

Cheyenne Ervin earned the Southwest Georgia Section of the American Institute of Chemists Award from the Department of Chemistry.

Connor McCarthy earned the David Winder Best Paper Award in Political Science from the Department of Political Science.

Tulane graduate

NEW ORLEANS — Tulane University awarded degrees to nearly 2,800 graduates at the end of the spring semester, including Jamie Spellerberg of Richmond Hill, who earned a bachelor’s of arts degree from Tulane’s School of Liberal Arts.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters