By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
When is a golf stroke actually a stroke
Rules of golf
Placeholder Image

Question: Art and Danny are playing in their men’s association tournament. On the 5th hole, Danny takes a practice swing from just off the green and accidentally hits his ball, causing it to move several feet and onto the putting surface. Danny then takes his putter and prepares to hit his next shot. Before he putts, Art tells him that he must replace his ball where it was and add a penalty stroke for moving his ball when it was in play. Is Art correct or can Danny play his ball from the putting surface and count the accidental hit as a stroke.

Answer: Art is correct. Danny had no intention of moving his ball under the definition of a "Stroke". However he incurs a penalty stroke under Rule 18-2a for moving his ball when it was in play, and the ball must be replaced.

Definition of a stroke: A "stroke" is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if the player checks his downswing voluntarily before the clubhead reaches the ball, he has not made a stroke.

As always, make it your goal to have fun when playing and practicing the game of golf. Call and check on the schedule for junior golf clinics this summer ( 832-GOLF). If you have questions, ideas, or suggestions, E-mail me at


Lewis is a member of the United States Golf Teachers Federation and certified teaching professional at Sapelo Hammock.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters