By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Richmond Hill All-Region Picks for 2023

Nick Bliss had an outstanding year for Richmond Hill and Region 1-7A coaches acknowledged him when they voted the Wildcats standout Offensive Player of the Year.

Bliss, an undersized overachiever at a compact 5-foot-9, 170 pounds, was one of 14 Richmond Hill players who earned varying levels of all-region honors with three of them being named first team selections along with Bliss.

In a region loaded with offensive talent Bliss ranked among the best. He led in all-purpose yards with 1,489 and his 126 points were second to Colquitt’s Ny’Quavion Carr’s 128.

Bliss started the season with a four-touchdown performance at Effingham County and never looked back. He returned the opening kickoff 86 yards for a touchdown with his other scores coming on a rush, a pass reception and the return of a blocked punt in a 34-24 win.

For the season Bliss had 602 yards rushing, 540 receiving, 227 on kick returns and 120 on punt returns. Teams started kicking away from him just a few games into the season. Of his 20 touchdowns 14 were by rushing and four were on pass receptions. He added three two-point conversion attempts.

The Wildcats other first team selections were offensive lineman Ho’o Naki, linebacker Gabe Bauman and safety Brandon McDonald.

Earning second team honors were running back Joshua Troupe, offensive lineman Brody Miller, defensive lineman Ted Christman, linebacker Lee Johnson, cornerback Aiden Grant and safety Caleb Easterling.

On offense linemen Camron Jackson, Thomas Zimbalatti and Ashtin Fisher were honorable mention as was quarterback Kirk Scott.

The Wildcats (5-6) played one of the most difficult schedules in school history. Their only opponent not to make the state playoffs was Lowndes and each of the other nine teams they played advanced to the second round or further in the playoffs.

With the exception of Fisher all of the other Wildcats are juniors which bodes well for the future.

Scott threw for 899 yards and eight touchdowns and ran for another 473 while Troupe led the team in rushing with 799 yards. Bauman had an outstanding season as he led the team with 114 tackles, 11 tackles for a loss and four sacks.

McDonald had 39 tackles with two interceptions. Easterling had 130 yards rushing, 36 tackles and three interceptions. Grant had 59 stops and three interceptions while Johnson had 74 tackles, 10 tackles for a loss and a team high three fumble recoveries as he teamed with Bauman to give the Wildcats one of the best linebacking groups in the region.

Christman improved steadily over the course of the season and appears to have set himself up for an excellent senior season. He had 62 tackles, five for a loss, and had a team high 11 quarterback hurries.

Colquitt’s Sean Calhoun was voted Coach of the Year, the Packers’ Neko Fann was Player of the Year and Brett Fitzgerald was Special Teams POY while Ja’Marley Riddle of Camden County and Todd Robinson of Valdosta were Co-Athletes of the Year.


Sign up for our E-Newsletters