By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
LCR sports wrap: Low Country Radio’s player of the year goes to ....
low country radio logo

 By Charlie Moon, Lowcountryradio.

Last Wednesday, the Richmond Hill High School football team held its annual Awards Night. Many of the expected awards were given, such as MVPs for units, most improved and best academic.

But from Low Country Radio, we gave out our Inaugural “Low Country Radio Player of the Year” award.

It was not your average player of the year definition. Head Coach Matt Lezotte devised this new award and wanted us to choose and present it. The caveat was that it should be a player that had a great season, but their statistics may not show their worth, or their name may not always be in the limelight.

 For us, it was simple. We chose Jeremiah Scott-Kollman. Ashaud Roberson was awarded MaxPreps Offensive POY with 1,564 yards and 16 TDs on 236 carries. QB Tyler Coleman was awarded Offensive POY. He was 106-164 and 16 TDs in the air. None of this would have been possible without Scott-Kollman.

He finished the season with the team’s second most Pancake Blocks (29) behind Joe Fusile’s 32. If you’re wondering what a Pancake Block is, it’s simple - a block in which a defender ends up flat on their back.

Offensive line coach Josh Davis lauds his physicality on such plays.

“Jae Loves to pancake people. He strives to be as physical as humanly possible... and he comes pretty close.” I met Scott-Kollman on the set of our first “Wildcats Coach’s Show.” On air, he compared the pancake block not always being the best thing to a defensive back always going for the big pick-6.

“Sure, they’re great, but it’s like a DB that always wants to go for that flashy play and get their name in lights.

They may get it once in awhile, but every time they don’t, they might give up the big play.

Same thing with us on the line. If I finish off a pancake all the way to the ground, that means I can’t go block someone else. Teams try to outnumber us in the box.

When they do, I gotta get those second-level blocks, too. And, I can’t do that if I’m worried about putting someone on the ground.”

Davis knows he will be missed. “Jae was also a great leader. He was one who made sure everyone stayed in line.”

Probably the most redeeming facet for Scott-Kollman was something else OL Coach Josh Davis gushed about.

“Jae, though he was built like whiskey barrel, had a heart that would make the Grinch blush.

He absolutely loves my 3-year-old daughter, Kinley. And, to be frank, the feeling is mutual.

She would ask about him daily and bawled at the dinner table upon learning that he played his last game as a Wildcat. My wife and I felt a sense of pride that a young man can have such an impact on the life of a child.”

Congratulations to Jeremiah Scott-Kollman for being named the Inaugural “Low Country Radio Player of the Year.” 

Complete awards listing

MaxPreps Overall POY Ashaud Roberson

236 Carries, 1564 yds, 16 TD, 8 rec, 147 yds

Tied as leading scorer 96 pts

Team MVP Kenyan Hunter

50 Carries, 367 yds, 13 TD, 1 rec, 33 yds, 3 Defensive TD, 42 Tackles, 2 TFL, 4 INT, 3 FF, 3FR

MaxPreps Offensive POY/Offensive MVP  - Tyler Coleman

106/164, 65%, 1658, 12 TD

MaxPreps Defensive POY - Shaquan Brooks

71 Total Tackles,39 Solo, 7 TFL, 6 Sacks, 7 Hurries, 1 FF,1 Rush 7 yds, 1 TD

Defensive MVP - Nathan Vickers

72 Total Tackles, 47 Solo, 10 TFL, 10 Sacks, 12 hurries

MaxPreps SPT POY - Britton Williams

56 TB on 73 KO 55/57 PAT, 6-14 FGs Long of 42


Most Outstanding By Position:

WR Jordan Clark - 27 rec, 645 yds, 23.8/rec, 5 TD

TE Ryan Steele 12 rec, 183 yds, 3 TD

OL - Pancake Award Joe Fusile  32 Pancakes

DL Armon Mason - 41 Total Tackles, 4 TFL, 1 INT

LB John Mastrorilli - 73 Total Tackles, 8 TFL, 1 FF, 1 FR

Marcus Jones - 55 Total Tackles, 3 TFL, 1 FR

DB Kenyan Hunter - 3 Defensive TD, 42 Tackles, 2 TFL, 4

INT, 3 FF, 3FR

Greg Freightman - 36 Total Tackles, 2 TFL, 2 INT

Specialist Britton Williams - 6 fgs 55 PATs 73 Points, 56 Touchbacks

long of 80 yard


Other Team Awards:

Head Athletic Trainer - Eli Bray

Lead Managers- Gabe Ingram, Josh Christian, Daniel Cone

Video Coordinator - Jeremy Smith

RH Football Video Crew - Anthony Cazares, Joshua Brown, Kelsie Fulerson, Collin England

Wildcat Production Team / Photographer - Angela Rice, Madison Goldhill, Gabe Zwicker, Noah Harper, Lindsey Ott, Will Graves

Wildcat Broadcasters - Jesus Jimenez, Stefanie Whiten

Scout Team Player of the Year - Offense Ben Hethcoat,  Defensive Jaden Day

IronMan Award - Christian Boggs, Isaiah Allen

Senior Wildcat Award - Charlie Tuttle, Jamin Minyon

Top Newcomer Award - Tyrone Bush, Ravon Grant

Future Wildcat Award - Ian Dunivan, Nick Bliss





Sign up for our E-Newsletters