By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
BCHS students get taste of life after school
Matt Mattingly speaks on being an auctioneer Tuesday during Bryan County High Schools College and Career Day. - photo by Photo provided.

Bryan County High School’s Career Technical Agricultural Education Department held College and Career Day on Tuesday, with presenters from a number of local and area businesses, the military and others talking to students about career options.
Students completed a college- and career-interest survey in February and then were scheduled to attend three interest sessions by business education teacher Renee Rogers. On Tuesday, CTAE teacher Inga Cashon and business education teacher Karen Lynn hosted presenters in the media center with a breakfast. They were from local businesses, colleges and universities, and various military branches.
Students from Future Farmers of America, Georgia Technology Student Association, Future Business Leaders of America, Science Club, Junior ROTC and Students Against Destructive Decisions served as student leaders for the day.
The presenters received awards as a token of appreciation for their service at the end of the third session.
BCHS staff Eleanor Hills, Lillie Hicks and Lenora Beasley assisted with the library setup.
More than 70 Bryan County High School students attended presentations on local journalism during Tuesday’s career day at the school.
The presentations were held in English department chair Tracey Foxworth’s class. Student Sierra Harn assisted.
Among those who participated in photography sessions and learned a bit about how the Bryan County News website is updated in session 1 were Devin Abernathy, Shelby Barfield, Angela Bolen, Eric Bryan, Jamier Campbell, Hannah Cranman, Levon Gaines, Quran George, Gage Hagan, Kamorie Jackson, Ja’Paige Jacobs, Antonio Johnson, Sharidon Mafnas, Hailey Martin, Andrea Padilla, Rita Page, Jalal Robbins, Madeline Smith, James Threatt, Summer Tilley, Nicholas Wilkerson, Alayana Williams and Anna Woods.
Those who attended session 2 were Jarred Allen, McKenzie Christian, Jacob Connor, Brandon Cox, Destiny Graham, DiJon Hamilton, Ashley Holton, Darron Jones, Ashley Kramer, Willie Lavant, Meagan Lee, Kaylin Leggett, Quiara Mafnas, Aaron Pope, Isaiah Ramdas, Ayana Roberson, De Von Robinson, Tre Smith, Kateleen Swaney, Isaiah Tillman, Cassidy Williams, and David Zaragoza-Nicholson.
Session 3 attendees were Sarah Anderson, Tyler Andrews, Alyssa Bacon, Antonio Brown, Amber Burke, Nicholas Canevit, Tyler Graves, Selah Harn, Maci Holton, Derron Jackson, Allison Lamb, Gideon Lamberd, Brittany Lancaster, Chelsea Messex, Chanon Mingledorff, Imani Newton, Kasey Perks, Marissa Pham, Sandra Phillips, Kimberlie Sapp, Katelyn Smith, Jennifer Strickland, Ashley Tler, John Walker, Wess White and Kalie Williams.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters