By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
RHRA basketball teams fare well
Season ends with several district champion teams
RHRA Lady Gators

As rec basketball season came to a close, several of the Richmond Hill Recreation Association teams won their district competitions and advanced to state.

The following teams can stake that claim:

- 9/10 Girls (Bears - coached by Sanford Carter): Kathryn Carter, Natalie Corbin, Tianna Donaldson, Suzanne Gizzi, Brooke Haws, Destiny Higgins, Kiana Jackson, Sinamen Magee, Khyli McCauley, Shannon Niedermeyer, Aubri Reed, and Megan Taylor. Coached by Bill Haws and Robert Fordham.

- 11/12 Girls (Gators - coached by Kevin Clark): Bailey Jackson, Amani Jenkins, Jordan Johnson, Lakeisha Lee, Krissi McCauley, Kristen McCauley, Ashleigh Moore, Erin Morrisey, Marzjan Mustafa, Ashley Scriven, Khadijah Scriven, Aleah Singleton, and Taylor Wolford. Coached by Kevin Clark and Arnold Singleton.

- 13/14 Boys (Cobras - coached by Jimmy Hires): Thomas Blige, Spencer Buck, Jeffrey Fortier, Xavier Fortier, Zack Gant, Chase Gill, Shaquille Gonzalez, Sean Hardy, Jay Hires, Brandon Jordan, and Ricky Prellwitz.

- 15/17 Boys (Cavs - coached by Ryan Glazer): Weston Danials, Taylor Gambill, Xavier Harris, Ben Janis, Ethan Lane, Alaric Lindquist, Kenneth Nixon, Genoh Seivright, Michael Shinall, Jonathan Tapper, Justin Wolford, and Phillip Wolford.

Here is how each of those teams fared at their respective state tournaments.

-9/10 Girls traveled to Jefferson. They lost in the first round of the state championship to Fitzgerald.

- 11/12 Girls traveled to Dawsonville. Won 1st game (72 - 22) over Evans County (Claxton). Won 2nd game (51 - 31) over Towns County. Took Runner-up in State to Dawnsonville.

- 13/14 Boys traveled to Breman. Lost in the first round to Glennville.

- 15/17 Boys traveled to Dooley County. Lost in first round against Dooley County.

Also, here is a list of the other teams that were victorious in their RHRA end of season tournaments:

- 7/8 boys (Celtics - coached by Robert and Lisa Judkins): Jacques Arlow, Tyler Harrison, Krisean Hayes, Jared McKinney, Royal Moss, Darius Phillips and Stephen Puhalia.

- 9/10 boys (Roadrunners - coached by Ron Weiser): Theophilus Akuffo, Taylor Baumgartner, Darian Burns, Glenn Carlson, Chaise Parker, Bailey Weiser and Grayson Wingfield.

- 11/12 boys (Dawgs - coached by Mark Snaveley): Carter Beauchamp, Anthony Donart, Brett Emerick, Matthew Hall, Wilbert Jenkins, Samuel Lilley, Dylan Myers and Titus Snaveley.

- 13/18 girls (Mustangs - coached by Mark Snaveley): Lauren Burchfield, Annie Kaye, Jessica Madden, Nysheba Maddox, Lindsey Maddox, Lindsey Phillips, Raegan Ritter and Kaylene Snaveley.

- 7/8 girls (Dawgs - coached by Chris Gorsuch): Victoria Baker, Dominique Barnes, Brittany Bass, Emmaline Byrant, Madelyn Gorsuch, Murphy Ringer, Shelby Smith and Haley Taylor.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters