By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Can you help you opponent?
Rules of Golf
Placeholder Image
Question: Kim and Clyde are playing in a stroke play tournament. On the seventh hole, Kim tells Clyde that he is swinging too hard and that is the reason for his bad shots. Has Kim breached the rules of golf?
Answer: Yes. Rule 8-1 says that giving advice to anyone playing in a stipulated round of golf other than your partner is prohibited. The penalty is two strokes in stroke play and loss of hole in match play. If Clyde had asked Kim for advice on why he was hitting so many bad shots, he would also have been penalized under Rule 8-1, for soliciting advice from a fellow competitor.

Great news: Sapelo Hammock Golf course in Shellman Bluff is being purchased by a group of people in and throughout the community. A group of many are uniting to make a difference. The intent is to restore a coastal treasure to its original beauty and charm. The specifics will be finalized in the near future. Updates will be provided on a regular basis. Stay tuned and get ready to visit “a coastal treasure,” Sapelo Hammock.

 As always, have fun playing and practicing the game of golf. E-mail me at if you have any questions or suggestions.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters