By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Voters go to poll Tuesday
camp signs jpg
Campaign signs found along Hwy. 144 seek votes in the race for District 4 on the Bryan County Board of Commissioners – the only contested local race. To see who is seeking office in the 2010 General Election. - photo by Photo by Hallie D. Martin
The 2010 Election is Tuesday, and voters in Bryan County will cast their ballots for county commissioners and school board members, statewide officials and the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives seats.
Voting takes place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Early voting ended Friday. Out of 20,000 registered voters in Bryan County, 1,979 voters cast their ballots during the early voting period that began in September, according to the Bryan County Voter Registrar’s office.
That number is small and it usually indicates voter turnout on Election Day, but this year might be different, said Warren Miller, the voter registrar for Bryan County.
“It’s hard to say,” he said how many people will vote Tuesday.  
Up for grabs are seats on the Bryan County Board of Commissioners for District 2 in North Bryan, and district 4 and 5 in South Bryan. No incumbents are running in any of those races, and District 4 is the only contested race.
Republican Butch Broome and Independent Carter Infinger are vying for a four-year term to represent District 4. Although only their names will appear on the ballot, Lynda Morse has also been running an aggressive write-in campaign for the seat.
Jody Wade “Bubba” Price, a Republican, is running unopposed for the District 2 seat, while Republican Jimmy Henderson is also running unopposed for the District 5 seat.
Voters in Bryan County can also cast their ballot for the chairman of the Bryan County Board of Education. Eddie Warren, the Republican incumbent, is running unopposed.
None of the seats up for grabs on the school board are contested. In District 1 (Pembroke), Republican Paine Bacon is running. In District 4 (Richmond Hill), incumbent Republican Joe Pecenka is running for another four-year term, while Republican David Schwartz is running for the District 5 (Richmond Hill) spot.
In South Bryan, incumbent Republican Ron Stephens is facing Democrat Zena McClain for the state House of Representatives District 164. Jan B. Tankersley, a Republican, is running unopposed for the state House of Representatives District 158 in North Bryan.
All Bryan County voters can also choose between Earl “Buddy” Carter, the Republican incumbent, or Democrat Carry Smith for the District 1 state Senate seat.
Voters can call the Bryan County Voter Registrars Office at 653-3859 to find out which precinct and/or district they live in and where to vote. Voters can also visit to see a sample ballot.
For a list of candidates, Constitutional amendments and polling places, turn to the voter guide on page 8.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters