By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Open BOE seats to be contested

Every incumbent on the Bryan County Board of Education will face at least one challenger in the Republican primary in May, and qualifying doesn’t end until Friday.

Incumbent Chairman Amy Murphy, as well as incumbents Pam Gunter in District 1, Marianne Smith in District 4 and District 5’s David Schwartz have all qualified to run again.

Republican challengers so far include Scott Novinksi, who is seeking the chairmanship; Shawn Page is running in District 1; Rebecca Ricker in District 4 and Torniano Gilbert and Lisa Fernandez in District 5.

No Democrats or independents had filed with Bryan County Elections Supervisor Cindy Reynolds as of the Bryan County News print deadline at 3 p.m. Wednesday, she said. County commissioners unopposed: District 2 incumbent Wade Price and District 5 commissioner Dr. Gene Wallace, DMD, have qualified as Republicans and will be seeking new terms. Patrick Kisgen, Jr., has qualified as a Republican to fill the District 4 seat being vacated by Andrew Johnson, who was appointed to fill the unexpired term left by Brad Brookshire. Brookshire stepped down in August because he moved out of the district.

Johnson agreed when he was appointed not to seek another term because incumbency would give him an unfair dvantage over potential challengers, according to commissioners.

Qualifying began Monday morning and ends at 5 p.m. Friday. The cost to qualify as a school board member is $99. The cost to run for county commissioner is $255.

For more information on qualifying or local elections visit

See individual candidate announcements:

Murphy qualifies for second term as school board chairman

Smith qualifies for re-election to BOE district 4

Gilbert qualifies for District 5 school board seat

Sign up for our E-Newsletters