By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
The 2018 election picture
Vote logo

Bryan County voters will have eight local seats to fill during the upcoming election cycle.

Only two candidates so far have announced their intention to run. Qualifying is March 5-9. The primary is scheduled for May 22, with a runoff date of July 24.

Amy Murphy, who represents District 3 on the Bryan County Schools Board of Education, has said she will run this year for chair. Eddie Warren currently holds that seat, having been first elected to the school board in 2000. He has been chair since 2006, although he has not indicated yet if he plans to seek re-election this year.

Marianne Smith, who represents District 4 on the school board, is running for re-election.

Also up for election this year on the school board are Districts 1 and 5, held by Paine Bacon and David Schwartz, respectively. They ran unopposed in 2014.

Murphy will have to resign her seat before qualifying to run for chair, as Georgia law prevents an elected official from seeking another office while still serving.

Election Supervisor Cindy Reynolds said there will be a separate qualifying period, yet to be determined, and a special election in conjunction with the May 22 ballot to fill the unexpired portion of Murphy’s seat. She was re-elected to a four-year term in 2016.

There are also three seats up for election this year on the Bryan County Board of Commissioners. Those include Districts 2, 4 and 5, currently held by Wade Price, Brad Brookshire and Rick Gardner, respectively.

Price and Gardner are finishing four-year terms. Brookshire won a special election in November 2016 to fill the unexpired term of Carter Infinger, who resigned earlier in 2016 to run for the chairmanship.

The general election is Nov. 6, with a runoff slated for Dec. 4.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters