By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Current, former mayors to run against each other in Pembroke

Pembroke’s current mayor will run for re-election against the city’s previous mayor.

Incumbent Mary Warnell and former three-term mayor Judy Cook both qualified this week to run for mayor in the Nov. 3 election.

The qualifying period for this year’s Pembroke and Richmond Hill elections continues through Friday at 4:30 p.m. at each city hall.

Four Pembroke City Council incumbents also had qualified to run for re-election as of Wednesday afternoon: Ernest Hamilton for the at-large council seat, Johnnie Miller in District 1, Kim McGhee in District 2 and Tiffany Walraven in District 4.

McGhee is the only council member with competition so far, as Karen Lynn also will run in District 2. No one had qualified yet for the District 3 seat held by Diane Moore, according to Pembroke City Clerk Betty Hill.

Cook, Pembroke’s first female mayor, decided not to run in 2011 after serving 12 years in office. Warnell ran unopposed to succeed her.

Whereas Pembroke elects its mayor and council members all in the same year, Richmond Hill has staggered terms. Two Richmond Hill City Council seats will be on the Nov. 3 ballot — the Post 3 seat currently held by John Fesperman and Jan Bass’ Post 4 seat.

Fesperman and Bass both qualified Tuesday. As of Wednesday afternoon, neither was facing opposition.

Anyone who is not registered to vote has until Oct. 5 to do so in order to vote in the Nov. 3 election.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters