By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bryan County High School still waiting on valedictorian
12th Gr Top 10
Bryan County High School Class of 2016 top 10, from left to right: Sarah Hughes, Kaylin Leggett, Logan Scott, Apurv Patel, Heather Bradish, Samantha Boyd, Allison Lamb, Matthew Allen, Taylor Roop, Katrina Stillwell. - photo by Photo provided.

They’ve spent countless late nights and weekends studying for four years, but they’ll have to wait a few more days before finding out who the valedictorian of Bryan County High School’s class of 2016 is.

“Final grades are due Wednesday for seniors, so it’s down to the wire,” said Inga Cashon, engineering and technology teacher, after the school’s Honors Day program Friday morning.

The top 10 in the class are: Matthew Allen, Samantha Boyd, Heather Bradish, Sarah Hughes, Allison Lamb, Kaylin Leggett, Apurv Patel, Taylor Roop, Logan Scott and Katrina Stillwell.

Zach Padilla was named “Redskin of the Year,” an award nominated and voted on by faculty for a senior who exhibits school pride.

Other award winners were:

Georgia Military Scholarship: Logan Scott

Nesmith Chevrolet Scholar Athlete: Kaylin Leggett

International Skills Diploma: Victoria Lanier, Taylor Mann

Lions Club STAR Student: Apurv Patel (STAR teacher: Pam Crawford)

Roman Czerwinski, who teaches Spanish at BCHS, said Lanier and Mann are the first two students in the county to receive the International Skills Diploma seal, which the Georgia Department of Education introduced for the first time this year. It requires at least three credits in a foreign language, four credits with an international focus, four extracurricular activities with an international focus, 20 hours of community service that involves fund raising for a global or cross-cultural project and a Capstone presentation. Students in only 62 schools statewide qualified for the seal this year, Czerwinski said.

Several JROTC award winners also were recognized.

Distinguished: Brett Kohler, Steven Boyd

Superior Cadet: Tatianna Franks, Lindsay Bowen, Patrick VonWaldner, Noah VonWaldner, Rosie Walker

Special Forces Association: Lindsay Bowen, Cody Cameron

Daughters of the American Revolution: Amy Rountree

Presidential Fitness Award: Alex Hearn

Military Order of the Purple Heart: Tatianna Franks

Military Officers Association: Logan Scott

American Veterans Association: Meghan Scott

Retired Enlisted Association: Christian Morgan

Be sure to see the special graduation section in the Bryan County News May 19.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters