By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bryan County election races set
Vote logo

Six races will be contested in Bryan County elections for this year’s general primary on May 24.

All candidates for county-level seats are running as Republicans except for those posts that are nonpartisan.

For county Board of Commissioners, Carter Infinger and Tim Gaylor — both of Richmond Hill — will square off for the chairman seat being vacated by the retiring Jimmy Burnsed. Incumbent commissioners Noah Covington III of District 1 and Steve Myers of District 3 will run unopposed.

Incumbent Sheriff Clyde Smith faces a challenger, Cleveland “Cleve” White of Ellabell.

For probate judge, current Richmond Hill police Chief Billy Reynolds and Jennifer M. Cox of Richmond Hill are the candidates. Current Probate Judge Sam C. Davis Jr. is not running for another term.

The Board of Education has two contested races. Richmond Hill residents Drew R. Humphreys, Audrey Singleton and Karen Krupp will compete for vice chairman. District 2 incumbent Dennis Seger of Black Creek will be challenged by Pauline Phifer of Richmond Hill. District 3 incumbent Amy Murphy is running unopposed.

Three Richmond Hill men are up for solicitor general: Andrew S. Johnson, Don Montgomery and Chester J. “Chet” Gregg. Incumbent Ray C. Smith is not seeking re-election and is instead running unopposed for State Court judge.

Other candidates running unopposed are:
• Becky Crowe, incumbent, Pembroke, clerk of Superior Court
• Bill Cox, incumbent, Richmond Hill, coroner
• Carroll Ann Coleman, incumbent, Richmond Hill, tax commissioner

At the state level, Rep. Jan Tankersley, R-Brooklet, is being challenged in House District 160 by Democrat James “Major” Woodall of Statesboro. The rest of the Bryan County delegation — Rep. Ron Stephens, R-Savannah, Rep. Jesse Petrea, R-Savannah, and Sen. Ben Watson, R-Savannah — are running unopposed.

At the federal level, incumbent U.S. Sen. Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., has drawn two Republican challengers, Derrick Grayson of Redan and Mary Kay Bacallao of Fayetteville, as well as four Democrats, Jim Barksdale of Atlanta, Cheryl Copeland of Hiram, John F. Coyne III of Alpharetta, and James Knox of Evans.

U.S. Rep. Buddy Carter, R-Ga., is unopposed.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters