By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
2012 is also local election year
Placeholder Image

Several countywide seats will be up for grabs this year. Below is a list of those seats, as well as who is currently in office. Qualifying for all countywide seats is from May 23-25.

Sheriff — Clyde Smith
Probate Judge — Sam Davis
Clerk of Superior Court — Rebecca Crowe
Tax Commissioner — Debbie Newman
Coroner — Bill Cox
State Court Judge — Jack Carney
Solicitor, State Court — Ray Smith

County Commissioners:
Chairman — Jimmy Burnsed
District 1 — Joe Kendrick
District 3 — Glen Willard
Vice Chair — Jeff Morton
District 2 — Dennis Seger
District 3 — Vacant

Some important dates:
Presidential primary: March 6
Local qualifying: May 23-25
General primary: July 31
Primary runoff: Aug. 21
General election: Nov. 6

Sign up for our E-Newsletters