By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bryan County voters guide
Placeholder Image
The following is a list of candidates seeking office in the 2010 General Election on Tuesday:

Bryan County Board of Commissioners:
• District 2: Jody Wade “Bubba” Price (R)
• District 4: Butch Broome (R); Carter Infinger (I); Lynda Morse, write-in
• District 5: Jimmy Henderson (R)

Bryan County Board of Education:
• Chairman: Eddie Warren (R), incumbent
• District 1: Paine Bacon (R)
• District 4: Joe Pecenka (R), incumbent
• District 5: David Schwartz (R)

State candidates:
• Senate, District 1: Earl “Buddy” Carter (R), incumbent; Carry Smith (D)
• House of Representatives, District 164: Ron Stephens (R), incumbent; Zena McClain (D)
• House, District 158: Jan B. Tankersley (R)
Governor: Nathan Deal (R); Roy E. Barnes (D); John H. Monds (L)
• Lt. Governor: L.S. Casey Cagle (R), incumbent; Carol Porter (D); Dan Barber (L)
• Secretary of State: Brian Kemp (R), incumbent; Georganna Sinkfield (D); David Chastain (L)
• Attorney General: Sam Olens (R); Ken Hodges (D); Don Smart (L)
• Commissioner of Agriculture: Gary Black (R); J.B. Powell (D); Kevin Cherry (L)
• Commissioner of Insurance: Ralph T. Hudgens (R); Mary Squires (D); Shane Bruce (L)
Schools Superintendent: John D. Barge (R); Joe Martin (D); Kira Griffiths Willis (L)
• Commissioner of Labor: Mark Butler (R); Darryl Hicks (D); Will Costa (L)
• Public Service Commissioner: Tim Echols (R); Keith Moffett (D); James “Jim” Sendelbach (L)
• District Attorney of the Atlantic Judicial Circuit: Tom Durden (D), incumbent
• Supreme Court Justice (non-partisan): Tammy Lynn Adkins; David Nahmias, incumbent; Matt Wilson
• Court of Appeals Judge (non-partisan): A. Harris Adams, incumbent
• Court of Appeals Judge (non-partisan): Anne Elizabeth Barnes, incumbent
• Court of Appeals Judge (non-partisan): James Babalola; Antoinette “Toni” Davis; Stan Gunter; Adrienne Hunter-Strothers; Chris McFadden; David M. Schaeffer
• Superior Court of the Atlantic Judicial Circuit (non-partisan): D. Jay Stewart, incumbent

Federal candidates
• Senate: Johnny Isakson (R), incumbent; Michael Thurmond (D); Chuck Donovan (L); Raymond Beckworth, write-in
• Congress: Jack Kingston (R), incumbent; Oscar Harris (D)

Proposed Amendments and Referendums
(vote yes or no):
• Amendment 1: Allows competitive contracts to be enforced in Georgia’s courts.
• Amendment 2: Adds a $10 tag fee to private vehicles to fund a statewide trauma care expansion.
• Amendment 3: Allows the state to execute multi-year contracts for long-term transportation projects.
• Amendment 4: Allows the state to execute multiyear contracts for projects to improve energy efficiency and conservation.
• Amendment 5: Allows owners for industrial zoned properties to choose to remove industrial designation from their property.
• Referendum A: Provides for inventory of businesses to be exempt from state property tax.
Polling precincts in
Bryan County:
1. Pembroke West – American Legion, 1040 Hwy 280 W. Pembroke.
2. Pembroke East – City Hall, 160 N Main St., Pembroke.
3. Ellabell – Hendrix Park Gym, 4060 Wilma Edwards Road, Ellabell.
4. Blitchton Fire Station – Blitchton Fire Station, 4747 US Hwy 80, Ellabell.
5. Ways Station – First Baptist Church, 9150 Ford Ave., Richmond Hill.
6. Daniel Siding – Daniel Siding Lp Rd Fire Station, 95 Daniel Siding Loop Rd. Richmond Hill.
7. RH Recreation Complex – RH Recreation Complex, 508 Timber Trail. Richmond Hill.
8. Hwy. 144 East – County Administrative Complex, 66 Capt. Matthew Freeman Dr., Richmond Hill.
9. Hwy 144 – Corinth Baptist Church, 69536 Hwy 144., Richmond Hill.
Voters can call the Bryan County Board of Registrars at 653-3859 to find out where to vote. Voters can also visit to see a sample ballot.
Sign up for our E-Newsletters