By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bryan County NAACP awards 11 scholarships
NAACP scholarships 1
Nine of the 11 scholarship winners are pictured above, including (not shown in order, in order) Laurel Bixler, Maggie Baker, Aniya Gaither, Blake Adams, Ryan Wiebold, Shawn Anthony Johnson, and Tyler Scott Schell from RHHS and Jon’Tasia McKinney and Izabella Heck from BCHS. Not pictured are Aailyah Presley and Lawrence Lowe III. Photo provided

The Bryan County NAACP is proud to announce that 11 students, four from Bryan County High School and seven from Richmond Hill High School, were awarded higher education scholarships for the upcoming academic year. Each award recipient demonstrated academic excellence, positive leadership in action and a dedication to community service.

Higher education for the awardees will be pursued at a variety of institutions, including Augusta University, Georgia Southern University, East Georgia State College, College of Coastal Georgia, Mercer University, Georgia Tech College of Sciences, and the University of South Carolina. Scholarship awards were presented to Laurel Bixler, Maggie Baker, Aniya Gaither, Blake Adams, Ryan Wiebold, Shawn Anthony Johnson, and Tyler Scott Schell on May 16 at the Richmond Hill High School Seniors Honors Night.

Scholarship awards were presented to Lawrence Lowe III, Jon’Tasia McKinney, Aaliyah Presley, and Izabella Heck on May 17 at the Bryan County High School Seniors Honors Night. Award amounts ranged from $500 to $2,000.

This year’s recipients completed the required application which was submitted to members of the Bryan County NAACP Scholarship Committee comprised of Luella M. Sanders, committee chairwoman, Adrienne Jackson, Dave Williams, Clyde Shepard, Amy Murphy, Sheila Fields, Johnnie Quiller and Advisor Patty Weiss. Committee members independently reviewed and scored each application which determined application ranking and award

amounts. Established in February 2021, the Bryan County NAACP Higher Education Scholarship’s vision is to provide not only financial assistance to students striving for academic, professional, and personal excellence, but a complete system of networking, professional mentorship, and community engagement opportunities to students within the Bryan County area.

Scholarship awards were made possible by the Bryan County NAACP’s 1st Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament held May 5 at The Ford Field & River Club. The NAACP would like to extend a special thanks to Jeff Fusile, president, and Ryan Skipton, head golf professional, of The Ford Field & River Club, and the Ford staff, sponsors, volunteers, donors, supporters, family, and friends who assisted in making these awards possible. Please join them in congratulating these young scholars and their families as they begin this exciting chapter in their lives.

NAACP scholarship 2
Bryan County NAACP Scholarship Committee Chairwoman Luella M. Sanders with BCHS winner Lawrence Lowe III. Photo provided
Sign up for our E-Newsletters