By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Academic achievements by local students
Academic achievement

The following students from Bryan County received academic honors recently:

Brewton-Parker College --

Nathan Skaggs of Richmond Hill qualified for the dean’s list at Brewton-Parker College of Mount Vernon, Georgia, for the 2019 spring semester.

Qualifying students were enrolled in 12 or more hours and earned a grade point average of 3.6 or better.

Coastal Carolina University --

Hannah M. Smith, a public health major from Richmond Hill, was named to the dean’s list at Coastal Carolina University in Conway, South Carolina, for the spring 2019 semester.

Students on the dean’s list must have a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.99.

University of North Georgia --

Jacob Collins and Carly Vargas, both of Richmond Hill, were named to the president’s honor roll at the University of North Georgia for the spring 2019 semester.

To make the president’s honor roll, students must be in enrolled in 12 or more credit hours in a bachelor’s degree program with a 4.0 GPA.

Several local students also were named to the dean’s list at UNG for the spring 2019 semester: Megan Baush, Sompathana Sengsy, Juliana Thornton and Madison Vargas, all of Richmond Hill.

Dean’s list recognition is achieved by having at least a 3.5 grade point average, carrying 12 or more credit hours in one semester and having no grade lower than B.

Lincoln Memorial University --

Darshan Patel of Richmond Hill received a white coat at the Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) White Coat Ceremony in Harrogate, Tennessee, on April 18, 2019.

Patel is a rising third-year osteopathic medical student at LMUDCOM. Prior to enrolling at LMUDCOM, Patel attended University of Georgia.

The White Coat Ceremony at LMU-DCOM is a special ceremony designed to mark a student’s entrance into the clinical rotations of their medical school training.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters