By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Life on Hill interview with Hollie Barnidge
Hollie Barnidge new
Hollie Barnidge is editor of three area publications, including the Bryan County News. - photo by File photo

Q: Where are you from?
A: I am from St. Louis, Missouri. I live in Pooler, and have been there since 2007.
Q: How long have you been an editor?
A: I have been an editor since 2003, starting with my first copy-editing position at the Abilene Reporter-News in Texas. Before that, however, I started as a reporter in 2001. I earned a bachelor’s of journalism from the University of Missouri, and I’ve worked at newspapers of various sizes in several states, including the St. Louis Post-Dispatch in Missouri, the Island Packet in Hilton Head and the Savannah Morning News.
Q: What’s your least favorite part of your job?
A: Email, definitely. I have seven email addresses and usually get more than 200 messages per day. Since anything sent to those addresses all flows into one single inbox and I’m the editor of three different publications, sometimes it’s hard to determine which publication the senders are inquiring about or submitting articles for.
Q: What do you enjoy about your job?
A: I enjoy networking, getting to know people in the community and learning about what makes our readers “tick.”
Q: Where are your favorite places to visit in this area?
A: This may sound strange since I live on the coast, but I’m not a “beach person.” I’m a city slicker, so I love to visit Savannah’s wonderful museums, theaters and restaurants. I have a toddler, though, so I gear our leisure plans to suit her interests, which means visits to parks, festivals and anything involving animals. Savannah’s Forsyth Park always has something to do — the farmers’ market, a great playground and so many events we’ve enjoyed, such as the Savannah Children’s Book Festival, the Doggie Carnival, the Sidewalk Chalk Arts Festival, concerts and outdoor movie nights.
Q: When you’re not working, what are some of your hobbies?
A: Since I have an active 2-year-old, I spend most of my “free” time being a mom; however, I’m learning to combine parenthood with some of my favorite activities, such as reading and baking. My daughter loves to be read to (the fairy tale “Rapunzel” is her favorite), and she helps me make things like cookies and cupcakes — nothing too complex.
Q: What is your favorite food?
A: Buttermilk biscuits with sausage gravy.
Q: What is your greatest achievement?
A: I’m still working on what I hope will be my greatest achievement, and that’s raising my daughter to be an intelligent, educated, responsible, independent, considerate, contributing member of society. I’m old-fashioned, and I’m not thrilled with the behavior I often see exhibited by today’s young people. I’m determined to make sure my child has morals, values and the knowledge that she must take ownership of her actions and choices.
Q: If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
A: I worry incessantly about everything. If I can’t think of anything to worry about, I worry that I’m forgetting something I should be worrying about. I wish I could teach myself not to worry so much, which likely would decrease my anxiety level.
Q: What are some things on your bucket list?
A: I’ve always wanted to visit Italy and, above all else, I want to write a book. I’ve had a plot in my head for quite a while, but need to make time to put the words on paper.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters