By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
GSU appointments solidify university merger
Placeholder Image

Georgia Southern University President Jaimie Hebert, Ph.D., is pleased to announce the appointments of several academic and administrative leaders for the new Georgia Southern University.

Effective Jan. 1, 2018, contingent upon the Board of Regents’ approval of the new, consolidated institution:

Christopher Curtis, Ph.D. will serve as the Vice President for Armstrong and Liberty Campus Operations.Amy Heaston, Ed.D. will serve as Chief of Staff in the Office of the President.

Additional appointments include the deans of the colleges. The provosts and faculty members from both institutions were involved in the decision regarding the dean appointments. The deans include:

Allen Amason, Ph.D. - Dean of the College of BusinessMohammed S. Davoud, Ph.D., P.E. - Dean of the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and ComputingGreg Evans, Ph.D., M.P.H. - Dean of the Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public HealthDelana Gajdosik-Nivens, Ph.D. - Dean of the College of Science and MathematicsPatrice Buckner Jackson, Ed.D. - Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of StudentsBarry Joyner, Ph.D. - Dean of the Don and Cindy Waters College of Health ProfessionsThomas R. Koballa, Jr., Ph.D. - Dean of the College of EducationJohn Kraft, Ph.D. – Interim Dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences*Curtis Ricker, Ph.D. - Dean of the College of Arts and Humanities

*A national search for a permanent dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences will begin in the coming months.

“This carefully selected group of individuals will help lead the new consolidated University, representing the interests of all its campuses, students, faculty and staff with a unified mission focused on the success of the students,” said Hebert.

“I am proud to see the entire list representing the collective leadership of two fine institutions coming together as one,” said Armstrong State University President Jennifer L. Frum, Ph.D. “It is a significant step forward for students, faculty, staff and the region.”

On Jan. 11, 2017, the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia voted to consolidate Armstrong State University and Georgia Southern University, ultimately creating a new Georgia Southern University with three campus locations in Savannah, Hinesville and Statesboro.

For updates on the consolidation, please visit

Sign up for our E-Newsletters