By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Education notes
Placeholder Image

Four local students earn degrees from UGA

The following students from Bryan County received degrees from the University of Georgia during the school's May 12 commencement:

Laura Griffin Jesser, Richmond Hill, master of accountancy; Benjamin Lilly, Richmond Hill, bachelor of arts; Tiffany Walraven, Pembroke, master of public administration; Bretlan Weaver, Richmond Hill, bachelor of fine arts.

Richmond Hill student named honor grad at Brewton-Parker

Maria Gutierrez-Sampson of Richmond Hill was named a Brewton-Parker College honor graduate during the May 12 commencement ceremony. Gutierrez-Sampson earned a bachelor of science degree, magna cum laude.

She is one of 26 BPC Honor Graduates completing degrees in the spring 2007 semester.

The college grants the distinction of graduation with honors to those students whose academic work meets the following standards based on a grade point average (GPA) scale with a 4.00 as the highest mark of achievement: cum laude (3.50 to 3.69 GPA), magna cum laude (3.70 to 3.89 GPA), and summa cum laude (3.90 to 4.00).

Gerstner named to Shorter College dean's list

Nocholas Gerstner of Richmond Hill was named to the Shorter College dean’s list for the spring 2007 semester. The dean’s list honors students who earn a minimum of 12 semester hours and hold at least a 3.5 grade point average for the term

Seven from Bryan County make B-P dean's list

Seven students from Bryan County qualified for the dean’s list at Brewton-Parker College for the spring 2007 semester. Students included April. Burgstiner of Pembroke; Stephanie Boaen, Dusty Bryant, Clayton Smith, Margo Smith, Cherie Becker and Michael Winter, all of Richmond Hill.

Qualifying students were enrolled in 12 or more hours and earned a grade point average of 3.6 or better.

UGA names eight local students to dean's list

The University of Georgia has announced the names of undergraduate students who were named presidential scholars or achieved the dean’s list for fall semester. The presidential scholar designation recognizes undergraduates who have scored a perfect 4.0 grade point average during the semester. Students named to the dean’s list have earned a 3.5 grade point average or higher out of a possible 4.0. Both designations require that students take at least 14 credit hours and receive no unsatisfactory or incomplete grades.

Students from Bryan County who made the dean’s list are Tanese Washington of Pembroke and Renee Aylworth, Kyle Carptender, Glen Goodrich, Leslie McConnell, Dustin Page, Karen Kemper and Mallory Denmark.

Conner gets high marks at Pensacola Christian College

Daniel Joseph Conner was named to the dean’s list at Pensacola Christian College for academic achievement during the 2007 spring semester. This was a result of earning a B average or higher.

Post your graduation photos online and share them with the world at

Sign up for our E-Newsletters