By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Education announcements
Placeholder Image

AASU president's list

Several students from Bryan County were named to Armstrong Atlantic State University’s president’s list for the 2006-2007 term. In order to make the president’s list, a student must be enrolled in at least nine semester hours of course work and earn a grade point average of 4.0 for two consecutive semesters.

The following Bryan County students made the 2006-2007 president’s list:

Ellabell: Brian Carney

Elizabeth R. Jumonville

Jessica Wing.

Pembroke: Kristie Flanders. Richmond Hill: Megan Herbert, Lee Martin, Jessica Martinez, Kelly May, Sarah Milton, Shelley Morris, Cynthia North, Stephanie Sands, Jaree Hudson, Dicy Saylor, Amanda Simerly.


Brewton-Parker dean's list

Two Bryan County students qualified for the dean’s list at Brewton-Parker College for the summer 2007 semester, announced Dr. Ron Melton, provost. The students are April M. Burgstiner of Pembroke and Margo L. Smith of Richmond Hill. Qualifying students were enrolled in 12 or more hours and earned a grade point average of 3.6 or better.


UGA honors

The University of Georgia has announced the names of undergraduate students who were named presidential scholars or achieved the dean's list for summer semester.

The presidential scholar designation recognizes undergraduates who have scored a perfect 4.0 grade point average during the semester. Students named to the dean's list have earned a 3.5 grade point average or higher out of a possible 4.0.

Presidential scholar: Brian Hawkins, Ellabell.

Dean's list: Joshua Stanfield, Pembroke; Bently Worthy, Evans, Morgan Bishop, Maria Garza, Justin Tillman, Ashley Congdon, Karen Kemper and Nadia Farra of Richmond Hill.


New graduates

An estimated 1,520 University of Georgia students completed requirements for their degrees at the end of the 2007 summer semester. Each student participated in the university’s commencement exercise which was held on Aug. 4 at the University of Georgia.

Local students who graduated were: Ashley Kathleen Congdon, bachelor of science in family and consumer science, Richmond Hill; Kelly Bree O'Neal, bachelor of science, Richmond Hill; and Jason Nicholas Slate, bachelor of arts, LaGrange.



Editor to speak

Bert Roughton Jr., managing editor of the print version of the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, will visit Georgia Southern University Wednesday, Sept. 26, at 7:30 p.m., to present this year’s Norman Fries Distinguished Lecture. His presentation, which is free and open to the public, will take place at the Performing Arts Center, corner of Chandler and Plant Roads.

In addition to discussing his experiences as a working journalist for more than three decades, Roughton will explore the role played by newspapers and other traditional media in today’s digital world.

Roughton began his college career at Georgia Southern University in 1973. He moved to Beirut in 1974 and attended the American University of Beirut in 1975, studying economics and comparative political systems. He returned to Statesboro, but eventually transferred to Georgia State University in 1977. He began his career in 1979 at This Week in Peachtree City and was hired by the Atlanta Journal-Constitution in 1981.

A working journalist for three decades, Roughton has spent most of his career as a reporter covering everything from routine school board meetings to major plane crashes, war and the business and politics of the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta.

Named managing editor of the AJC in February 2007, he is responsible for determining the newspaper’s content and presentation and is playing a key role in reinventing the newspaper to compete in the digital age.

The Norman Fries Distinguished Lectureship Series began in 2001. It is funded by an endowment in honor of the late Norman Fries, who was the founder of Claxton Poultry. In his more than 50 years in business, Fries built the company from a one-man operation into one of the nation’s largest poultry production plants.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters