By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Education announcements
Placeholder Image

Congdon gets scholarship

Brandie Congdon of Richmond Hill is a new recipient of a scholarship provided by the Ty Cobb Educational Foundation.

An early childhood education major at Kennesaw State University, Congdon is listed among 208 Georgia residents who received $505,000 in scholarships for the 2007-2008 academic year.

The Foundation was established in 1953 by the late Tyrus R. Cobb (1886-1991), a native of the northeast Georgia city of Royston, who was unparalleled as a baseball star for most of his 24-year career in the major leagues. Owner of a .367 lifetime batting average and the first player elected to baseball’s Hall of Fame, Cobb established the scholarship foundation to assist capable and deserving residents of Georgia who need assistance in completing their college education.

Scholarships are granted to undergraduate students beyond the freshman year and to graduate students pursuing degrees in medicine and dentistry. Although grants are for Georgia residents only, a student may attend an accredited college or university in Georgia or another state. Guided by a board of former college and university administrators, most scholarships are awarded for a period of one academic year and may be renewed for one or more additional years.

Students interested in future awards are encouraged to write the Ty Cobb Foundation at P.O. 937, Sharpsburg, GA 30277; send an e-mail to; or visit the Foundation’s web site at


Baker a semifinalist

Richmond Hill High School student Matt Baker was recently announced as one of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 53rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

The high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,200 Merit Scholarship® awards, worth $34 million, that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must advance to the finalist level of the competition by fulfilling several requirements.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and approximately half of the finalists will be selected as Merit Scholarship winners, earning the Merit Scholar title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Program. Scholarships awarded through the program are underwritten by NMSC’s own funds and by approximately 500 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

Sign up for our E-Newsletters