View Mobile Site

A sign of their times

Bryan County High School's state champion softball teams honored

POSTED: March 29, 2007 5:00 a.m.

If you have traveled east or west on Highway 280 in North Bryan County lately, you may have noticed a couple of new additions at the city limits of Pembroke.

Two new signs have been erected that recognize the Bryan County High School Softball State Championship Teams in the years of 1983, 1986 and 2001. An unveiling ceremony was held Wednesday, March 7 at the western city limits sign across from the American Legion building. Coaches Albert Lodge, 1983 and 1986 and Mary Moss, 2001, stood beside members of all three teams as the sign was displayed.

Both coaches expressed their gratitude for having been recognized for their achievements and both gave much credit for the championships to the teams of young women who played those years.

"I learned as much from those girls, that first year, as they learned from me," said Coach Moss.

Coach Lodge expressed his love for BCHS and for the young men and women that he had the honor to coach. In his closing remarks, Coach Lodge added, "Thank you for letting me share in your lives."

Team members along with parents and county dignitaries gathered prior to the ceremony and looked over scrapbooks and photos while reflecting on a rich time in BCHS sports history that was being commemorated on this day.

Bryan County High School Booster Club president Dennis Seger expressed his gratitude to Pembroke Mayor Judy Cook for her part in taking the steps necessary to have the signs purchased and installed. Mayor Cook, in turn, credited Mr. Seger for having approached her about the need for recognition of such a great honor as winning a state championship.

"The city of Pembroke is proud to bring recognition to our star athletes," said Mayor Cook. "Hard work and dedication was instilled in these young ladies by coaches and parents. These young ladies are continuing to be active role models in our community."

Cook added that, during the recent alumni game, discussion was initiated about honoring the boys’ teams that Lodge coached to state championships, and that another dedication is in the planning stages.

Team members of the past championship season in attendance at the dedication ceremony were Christy Howard (1983), Becky Crowe (83/86), Paula Letcher (83/86), Libby Todd (1986), current BCHS softball coach Kim Covington (1983), Sonji Leach (1986), April Meeks (2001), Amanda Ballard (2001), Blaine Ennis (2001), Tabitha Guy (2001), and Mandy Miles (2001).

Bryan County High School Principal Harold Roach, Assistant Principal Rod Bachman, Bryan County School Superintendent Sallie Brewer and Board of Education Member Mary Warnell were also in attendance.















Commenting is not available.


  • Bookmark and Share

Please wait ...