View Mobile Site

Challengers win in Richmond Hill, Pembroke

  • Bookmark and Share

Most Popular

BC News Friends to follow

POSTED: November 8, 2011 7:29 p.m.

Friends of Jan Bass greet cars as they enter J.F. Gregory Park Tuesday afternoon on their way to vote at the John W. Stevens Wetlands Education Center. (Crissie Elrick)

View Larger

According to unofficial results from the Bryan County Voter Registration Office, John Fesperman and Jan Bass have won in Richmond Hill, and Ernest Hamilton will take office in Pembroke - though the votes in some cases are close.

In Richmond Hill, voters elected Fesperman for the Post 3 seat with 586 votes. Incumbent Jimmy Hires received 573 votes.

Voters also elected Bass for the Post 4 seat with 620 votes while incumbent Marilyn Hodges received 525 votes .

In Pembroke, voters elected Ernest Hamilton as the new at-large city council member with 253 votes. Current District 2 council member Doug Kangeter received 176 votes.

Races for Pembroke's mayoral and district council seats were uncontested.

See more on the elections in the Nov. 9 edition of the News.



  • Bookmark and Share

Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.

Please wait ...